Ales Bialiatski, Russia’s Memorial and Ukraine’s Center for Civil Liberties win Nobel Peace Prize 2022

Anurag Sharma
Anurag Sharma

Updated · Oct 7, 2022

SHARE: is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Advertiser Disclosure

At News, we strive to bring you the most accurate and up-to-date information by utilizing a variety of resources, including paid and free sources, primary research, and phone interviews. Our data is available to the public free of charge, and we encourage you to use it to inform your personal or business decisions. If you choose to republish our data on your own website, we simply ask that you provide a proper citation or link back to the respective page on News. We appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to provide valuable insights for our audience.

The Nobel Peace Prize for this year has been given to Ales Bialiatski (Belarus rights activist), the Memorial Russian Group and Center for Civil Liberties in Ukraine.

Berit Reiss – Andersen, chaired of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, announced Friday Oslo’s winner.

Monday marked the start of a week of Nobel Prize announcements. The award in medicine was given to a scientist who discovered the secrets of Neanderthal genetics.

The prize in Physics Tuesday was shared by three scientists who showed that even tiny particles can still be connected to one another.

Three scientists were awarded the prize for chemistry Wednesday after they developed methods to connect molecules in a way that could be used to create more targeted drugs.

This year’s Nobel Prize for Literature went to Annie Ernaux, a French author.  On Monday, October 10, the 2022 Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced.


The Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded the 2022 #NobelPeacePrize from the Norwegian Nobel Committee to Ales Bialiatski, a human rights advocate from Belarus, to the Russian human rights organization Memorial and to the Ukrainian human rights organization Center for Civil Liberties.

In the past, this award spotlighted activists and groups who work to prevent conflict, alleviate hardship and defend human rights.

The winners of last year’s prize have had a difficult time since they were awarded it. Dmitry Muratov, a Russian journalist, and Maria Ressa, a Filipino journalist, have been fighting for their survival, defying government attempts to silence them. They were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine for unlocking Neanderthal DNA secrets that gave us key insights into our immune systems.

The prize in Physics was won Tuesday by three scientists. Frenchman Alain Aspect and American John F. Clauser had demonstrated that even tiny particles can maintain a connection to each other, a phenomenon called quantum entanglement. This phenomenon can be used for specialized computing as well as encryption.

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded Wednesday to K. Barry Sharpless and Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Americans, and Morten Meldal, Danish scientist, for their discovery of a method of “snapping together molecules” that can be used to map DNA, explore cells and create drugs that target cancer more precisely.

This year’s Nobel Prize for Literature went to Annie Ernaux, a French author. Her ability to combine fiction and autobiography, in books that bravely mine her experiences as a working-class women, was praised by the panel.

Anurag Sharma

Anurag Sharma

He has been helping in business of varied scales, with key strategic decisions. He is a specialist in healthcare, medical devices, and life-science, and has accurately predicted the trends in the market. Anurag is a fervent traveller, and is passionate in exploring untouched places and locations. In his free time, he loves to introspect and plan ahead.